Tube Equipment and DIY Disasters and Dangers

doggie

Tube Equipment and DIY Disasters and Dangers
« on: 26 Nov 2017, 03:11 am »
I have had several experiences with my own equipment and one with a friend's that resulted in either an explosion(small), smoke, and\or burning. I have been doing DIY for about 35 years and have never had a serious fire but have received a couple of bad shocks. I thought that I would start a thread regarding tube equipment and DIY to see if others have cautionary tales to tell.

I will go first.

Shocks: In the early days of building tube amps and modifying them I had two episodes that gave me a profound respect for high voltage. Once I was working on the underside of an FM receiver that was powered on and my tool slipped causing a short. That event kicked me out of my chair and the chassis dropped to the floor, luckily not on me. Another time I just spaced out and touched a bare 400 volt wire. That put a hole in my finger. In the last 30 years I have been more cautious.

I once had a Dynaco MkIII resistor burn up. Luckily I heard a pop and turned around to see it burning so that I could turn it off. Another time I had built a small Tripath amp which was battery powered. In the process of plugging in a switchable battery charger into the cheap rear panel socket I bent the center pin against the ground sleeve. The battery saw a dead short and poured its heart out melting the internal wiring and filling the room with acrid smoke. The amp and battery were OK but the house smelled pretty bad. In the case of my friend, her 2A3 amp had a solid state heater rectifier which decided to die. This short overheated the power transformer pretty much melting it. It was replaced and a smaller value fuse installed as the original one never popped

Take home lessons:

1. Never leave tube equipment on when you are not home or nearby.
2. Always use fuses of the correct value and definitely use one.