Chromecast Audio

gary

Chromecast Audio
« on: 3 Mar 2016, 02:35 am »
Is anyone using one of these things? I bought one the other day and I'm happy with the convenience but happier with the sound quality. Foobar2000 can stream to it and so can JRiver, both were pretty easy to set up although I'll probably buy JRiver for the better interface and phone remote software. Hard to imagine better value in any audio purchase than this one. And I'm new to high res audio, but it does seem to be streaming the sample tracks from hdtracks.com without down converting them.

gary

gbeard

• Contributing writer--Positive Feedback
Re: Chromecast Audio
« Reply #1 on: 3 Mar 2016, 03:47 pm »
Hi Gary,

Gary here.  :)

I've got two and will likely buy another. I purchased them so I could play background music in two different rooms. It works well once you set up casting. It appears that J river only supports multicast through the app, I could only use one at a time from my laptop running the server. 

I agree that they sound pretty good. I've got one of mine connected via mini-toslink and the other one is the 3.5 at the moment. I think there is a sonic benefit with the optical, but perhaps not hugely so.

For $35 bucks, pretty neat.

G

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #2 on: 4 Mar 2016, 02:01 pm »
An audio buddy has one.  He's a frugal guy and has built an very decent system out of streaming only via Tidal, his phone, Chromecast, my old Emotiva DC-1 DAC/preamp/headphone amp, Crown 1500, and reconditioned vintage speakers for under $1000.  He's waiting for Chromecast to release more/better software (due anytime) but it's impressive to get access to 8 million CD quality songs (when it works).

So when the kinks have been worked out, I'll probably go Tidal and give up collecting CD's.

maty

« Reply #3 on: 4 Mar 2016, 02:12 pm »
MEASUREMENTS: Google Chromecast Audio - Part I: Analogue Output