Adjustable Impedance

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 24391 times.

TheMonkey

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 16
Re: Adjustable Impedance
« Reply #80 on: 4 Nov 2017, 03:38 pm »
Thank you Morten!

The Rev 1015 is working very good so far!  :D  All the 10 impedance settings are working very nicely even though it sometimes hangs in the stage just before the AutoCal starts (where it on my one says 18 on the left display and moves around 0-4 on the right display before it settles), a simple kill the power and restart the AutoCal seems to work ok.


Concerning this improved responsiveness:

" * Tweak - This update improved the responsiveness of the controller to inputs from the Apple Remote and also corrects a minor error in how the preamp responded to repeat commands when user held down the certain buttons on the remote. As a result of this update the controller reacts faster to Apple command especially repeat commands when buttons are held down. Time will tell if the faster response is desirable to end-users or if it proves to be too rapid and may need to be slowed down a tad in a future update.  "

I would say it's too rapid now. Somewhere in the middle between how it was before and now would be good.  :D

I still got some problems with the remote. By now I have changed to more than 10 different Apple ID numbers and paired the remote again. I'm still having problems/interference with other remotes though. Mostly the repetitive commands. With this newly improved responsiveness, things are getting a bit worse for me since it's mostly raising the volume on my V25s and doing that very fast now and I've got a quite strong power amp...  :scratch:

/ Simon

tortugaranger

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1240
  • Handcrafted high performance audio gear
    • Tortuga Audio
Re: Adjustable Impedance
« Reply #81 on: 5 Nov 2017, 10:13 pm »
Thank you Morten!

The Rev 1015 is working very good so far!  :D  All the 10 impedance settings are working very nicely even though it sometimes hangs in the stage just before the AutoCal starts (where it on my one says 18 on the left display and moves around 0-4 on the right display before it settles), a simple kill the power and restart the AutoCal seems to work ok.

Concerning this improved responsiveness:

" * Tweak - This update improved the responsiveness of the controller to inputs from the Apple Remote and also corrects a minor error in how the preamp responded to repeat commands when user held down the certain buttons on the remote. As a result of this update the controller reacts faster to Apple command especially repeat commands when buttons are held down. Time will tell if the faster response is desirable to end-users or if it proves to be too rapid and may need to be slowed down a tad in a future update.  "

I would say it's too rapid now. Somewhere in the middle between how it was before and now would be good.  :D

I still got some problems with the remote. By now I have changed to more than 10 different Apple ID numbers and paired the remote again. I'm still having problems/interference with other remotes though. Mostly the repetitive commands. With this newly improved responsiveness, things are getting a bit worse for me since it's mostly raising the volume on my V25s and doing that very fast now and I've got a quite strong power amp...  :scratch:

/ Simon

Hi Simon,

I've made some changes to the firmware in version 1016 regarding the Apple auto-repeat speed which I just uploade to the website. More info on it here: http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=150513.msg1641866#msg1641866

Also, someone posted a link regarding a procedure to better pair up Apple remotes with Apple devices so the Apple device (TV etc. ) doesn't respond to just any Apple remote which is the whole point of the Apple remote having 256 difference IDs. Give this a try is see if it helps.  Here's a link to that post:  http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=149567.msg1639080#msg1639080

tortugaranger

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1240
  • Handcrafted high performance audio gear
    • Tortuga Audio
Re: Adjustable Impedance
« Reply #82 on: 13 Apr 2018, 02:34 pm »
Over the past few days I've confirmed that going forward users should always disconnect interconnect cables (input(s) & output) prior to initializing or making subseqent changes to the impedance level associated of the impedance settings (1 through 10). Doing so will ensure reliable results later on when you're switching between impedance levels while listening to music. By not following this procedure you invite the possibiity of there being volume level differences between each impedance setting and/or channel imbalances that shouldn't be there.

I believe the problem stems from having multiple ground connections. When nothing is connected to the preamp, the calibration process has a fixed ground reference that doesn't change regardless of impedance level. However, when multiple interconnects are attached to the preamp there are now multiple ground connection points which may prove to be either soft, noisy, or otherwise susceptible to moving about slightly as impedance levels are changed and clibration is run. As a result of these multiple ground connections, the results of the calibration process may not be consistent.

To be clear, you may not run into this problem with your preamp and system. But you can and some people have. I've been able to reproduce the problem here in our shop.

Again, the simple fix is to detach your interconnects while setting up/changing your impedance levels and running calibration for each level. Once this is done, reconnect your interconnects and run the preamp normally including being able to hot switch between preamp settings to optimize your impedance setting for your rig.

Adjustable impedance is unique tool available to Tortuga Audio preamp owners. While it can be useful to optimize performance the setup process can be a bit complex and tedious. And for most users there's no compelling need to even mess with adjustable impedance unless you're curious. But if you do, please be mindful of the above and proceed deliberately.

Cheers,
Morten

33na3rd

Re: Adjustable Impedance
« Reply #83 on: 13 Apr 2018, 02:43 pm »
Over the past few days I've confirmed that going forward users should always disconnect interconnect cables (input(s) & output) prior to initializing or making subseqent changes to the impedance level associated of the impedance settings (1 through 10). Doing so will ensure reliable results later on when you're switching between impedance levels while listening to music. By not following this procedure you invite the possibiity of there being volume level differences between each impedance setting and/or channel imbalances that shouldn't be there.

I believe the problem stems from having multiple ground connections. When nothing is connected to the preamp, the calibration process has a fixed ground reference that doesn't change regardless of impedance level. However, when multiple interconnects are attached to the preamp there are now multiple ground connection points which may prove to be either soft, noisy, or otherwise susceptible to moving about slightly as impedance levels are changed and clibration is run. As a result of these multiple ground connections, the results of the calibration process may not be consistent.

To be clear, you may not run into this problem with your preamp and system. But you can and some people have. I've been able to reproduce the problem here in our shop.



Again, the simple fix is to detach your interconnects while setting up/changing your impedance levels and running calibration for each level. Once this is done, reconnect your interconnects and run the preamp normally including being able to hot switch between preamp settings to optimize your impedance setting for your rig.

Adjustable impedance is unique tool available to Tortuga Audio preamp owners. While it can be useful to optimize performance the setup process can be a bit complex and tedious. And for most users there's no compelling need to even mess with adjustable impedance unless you're curious. But if you do, please be mindful of the above and proceed deliberately.

Cheers,
Morten

Very interesting Morten, thank you!

Would there be any benefit to disconnecting all interconnects for a normal auto calibration not involving impedance changes?

tortugaranger

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1240
  • Handcrafted high performance audio gear
    • Tortuga Audio
Re: Adjustable Impedance
« Reply #84 on: 13 Apr 2018, 02:52 pm »
Very interesting Morten, thank you!

Would there be any benefit to disconnecting all interconnects for a normal auto calibration not involving impedance changes?

I don't think so. For a given impedance setting/level you should be able to run calibration with everything connected normally as that will likely remain the "normal".  This has been the case for most users most of the time and in my own rig I've never had an issue with this. It's when you go setting up multiple impedance settings/levels each requiring you run calibration that it's important to do so with interconnects disconnected.

FYI, the successor to the V25 board will have ground isolation for each input and the control system will have its own isolated ground plane so that calibration will always independent of externally connected grounds.

konut

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1507
  • Came for the value, stayed for the drama
Re: Adjustable Impedance
« Reply #85 on: 13 Apr 2018, 03:17 pm »
Would a viable alternative be to unplug all components from AC except the the Tortuga? This might be easier in some setups.

tortugaranger

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 1240
  • Handcrafted high performance audio gear
    • Tortuga Audio
Re: Adjustable Impedance
« Reply #86 on: 13 Apr 2018, 03:31 pm »
Would a viable alternative be to unplug all components from AC except the the Tortuga? This might be easier in some setups.


In theory that should be comparable.