NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 623 times.

PSSO

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 2
NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem
« on: 28 May 2017, 09:49 am »
I have just replaced my Audiolab M-DAC with a NuPrime DAC-9 and now I have a problem.

Previous setup: Intel PC -> SOtM tX-USBhub -> Audiolab M-DAC - no problem

New setup: Intel PC -> SOtM tX-USBhub  -> NuPrime DAC-9 - no sound

Test setup: Intel PC - NuPrime DAC-9 - no problem

It seems that the DAC-9 can't be used together with a USB hub. Does someone have an explanation for that?

rustydoglim

Re: NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem
« Reply #1 on: 28 May 2017, 05:09 pm »
The USB input on DAC-9 (and other NuPrime DACs) expect to receive 5V power. So try a USB hub that provides power.

in1unison

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 44
Re: NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem
« Reply #2 on: 28 May 2017, 05:40 pm »
Hmm, this is powered hub with 5V USB output  :scratch:
...so check that power switch at the port is in ON position!

EDIT: this hub has "miniature" on/off switches right above each USB outlet port
« Last Edit: 28 May 2017, 08:38 pm by in1unison »

John Casler

Re: NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem
« Reply #3 on: 28 May 2017, 06:31 pm »
Also, if you get no sound with "any" input, check your voltage selector.

rustydoglim

Re: NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem
« Reply #4 on: 28 May 2017, 06:56 pm »
His PC to DAC-9 works so the problem is the hub?

Armaegis

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 803
  • slumming it between headphones and pro audio
Re: NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem
« Reply #5 on: 28 May 2017, 08:19 pm »
Does the computer even recognize the DAC-9 when going through the hub?

Depending on how the hub configures/sends the id and data transfer, you might need to reinstall the drivers with the DAC-9 plugged in through the hub (but *if* this works, it probably means you won't be able to use it without the hub, at least not without reinstalling drivers again).

PSSO

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 2
Re: NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem
« Reply #6 on: 1 Jun 2017, 05:56 am »
The USB input on DAC-9 (and other NuPrime DACs) expect to receive 5V power. So try a USB hub that provides power.

Problem solved  :D

Turned on the 5V power for the USB outlet port of the SOtM tX-USBhub

Thank you all for your help

in1unison

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 44
Re: NuPrime DAC-9 USB hub problem
« Reply #7 on: 1 Jun 2017, 06:54 am »
Cool!  Enjoy your DAC-9