Receptacles... what to do?

dBe

• Industry Participant
    • PI audio group, LLC
Receptacles... what to do?
« on: 1 Aug 2015, 12:29 am »
In a galaxy long ago and before my accident I said I would walk through how I modify receptacles for my own use.

Here a 3 pictures that might help of a P&S5362A:

I am a terrible photographer as you can see but I think these will work.

The first picture is a photo of a stock 5362A.  Very robust construction on good materials.

The second picture is of it partially disassembled.

The third picture shows part of what I do to make a very good receptacle great.  I have spread the contacts to show you stock (top) and the beginning of the polishing process that I do to the contacts.  The line contacts on the bottom assembly have been through the first pass on the polishing wheel I made and will give you an idea of where I am going with all of this.

People coming for dinner.  I'm the cook.  More tomorrow.  I'll tell you what I use and why.  Also, I will try to take some really good pics of the contacts.

Toodles...

dBe

• Industry Participant
    • PI audio group, LLC
Re: Receptacles... what to do?
« Reply #1 on: 3 Aug 2015, 09:58 pm »
Here are the line contacts before and after their final buffing.  Pictures (At least mine) do not do the buffed versions justice.  Nice and shiny and quite smooth.  Under a 10X loupe that are very, very different from each other.

Guess which is which?

Why would I go to all of this trouble?  several reasons:

My innate curiosity makes me do it.  Can't help myself.  OCD?

To find out just how good for audio standard products can be.  As I have found out over the years there are a slew of OK products out there that can sound awesome with a little care.  First came swapping out op amps for better SQ, then 4001 diodes for soft recovery, then Schottky to clean up power supply noise, then power supply caps and on and on...