New Home

Bill O'Connell

• Industry Participant
  • Retired . Music Lover
New Home
« on: 22 Jun 2017, 04:01 pm »
My wife and I are moving. New house has a20' X 20' room, I'm having the wall taken down to the adjoining room which will give me a 35' length with 20' wide room. that gives me about 10' added on to the original 20' room
then it tapers down. from the original wall that was removed there will be about 44" of wall that remain as the doors to the room are staying as is the cold air return.
 Any suggestions as to acoustic treatments or speaker placement would be appreciated. Hoping I can put the speakers  10.15' from front wall to front of speakers. Speakers are 2'wide by 2' deep. Came up with that figure from front wall using 35' X .29=10.15'
 Any other help appreciated. I've never measured a room for nodes or anything so I'm a novice in that regards.

Thanks,
 Bill

JakeJ

Re: New Home
« Reply #1 on: 22 Jun 2017, 04:32 pm »
Congrats, Bill!  That's a nice space.  What's the ceiling height?

JWL.GIK

• Industry Participant
    • GIK Acoustics
« Reply #2 on: 22 Jun 2017, 05:01 pm »
Nice! A 35x20 room is more space than a lot of people have to work with, and it definitely gives you a lot more flexibility with speaker placement. Perhaps these will be helpful to you?
http://www.gikacoustics.com/room-setup-speaker-placement-201-part-one/
http://www.gikacoustics.com/room-setup-speaker-placement-201-part-two-subwoofers/

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #3 on: 22 Jun 2017, 08:39 pm »
Is this an audio only room or shared with HT duties.  Normal recommendations is for the HT room to be wider.

Again, what is the height?