Input sensitivity for TVC?

milpai

• My Dedicated Audio Room
Input sensitivity for TVC?
« on: 29 Aug 2009, 03:33 pm »
Hi All,

I have the Ref C-Core and want to get a new power amp. I am not too technical when it comes to gear. Should the "input sensitivity" of an amp be on higher side (> 1.0mV) or on lower side (< 1.0mV) for the TVC+AMP to sound great?
Currently my integrated amp that is being used as a power amp has input sensitivity of 770mV and I have to go from (click) 0 to 12 for the sound to be at moderate level in my 12X14 listening room.

Thanks

Brown

Re: Input sensitivity for TVC?
« Reply #1 on: 31 Aug 2009, 03:38 pm »
The lower the better. Below 1 mv is desirable. TVCs are at their best when connected to an amp with very low input sensitivity. Further use cables under two meters. even though the TVC has been tested to use up to 5 meters I found that shorter sounds better.   

milpai

« Reply #2 on: 31 Aug 2009, 03:50 pm »
Thanks for the reply Brown.
So does it mean that a stereo power amp that I plan to buy, which has input impedance of 22KOhms and sensitivity of 2.0V and power output of 110X2 at8Ohms will be unsuitable for my TVC?

Brown

« Reply #3 on: 3 Sep 2009, 02:02 pm »
its not the best choice. The input sensitivity is too high. Under 1mv is recomended TVCs are NOT for all amps IMO. Now where they really shine is with SET [ Single Ended Triode ]  amps.
   I am sure many buyers have had good results with other amps. What I am saying is to pull every last bit of performance from a TVC  SET amp with low input sensitivity is the ticket.
    Be prepared to maybe reconsider your CDP. The TVC WILL give you 100% of the character of such. So in your CDP up to the challenge of the transparency of the TVC.
    Again TVCs are NOT for all systems but when your system is receptive then by all means GET ONE.

guest48077

« Reply #4 on: 3 Sep 2009, 03:04 pm »