Should I be worried about this tube?

PETE6737

• Revel 2 channel
Should I be worried about this tube?
« on: 19 Nov 2015, 04:39 am »
Hello All
I'm new to tubes and I just received my Oppo Bdp 105 Modwright mod back. I'm breaking in the tubes and one tube has a piece of metal that is not like the rest and glows brighter. I was wondering if I need to worry about that. As a side note, I have Sophia's and a Phillips rectifier waiting to be installed after the break in. Thanks in advance, Pete

It looks like three prongs are flat and one is rounded.

dminches

Re: Should I be worried about this tube?
« Reply #1 on: 19 Nov 2015, 12:57 pm »
Is that the stock EH 6SN7?  If so, I would replace it since it isn't a very good sounding tube.  You can get something for under $100 per pair which will sound much nicer.

PETE6737

• Revel 2 channel
« Reply #2 on: 19 Nov 2015, 08:31 pm »
 Yes, it is the stock tube. I have some Sophia tubes waiting to be installed.  The suggestion was to put several hundred hours on with the stock tubes before changing out to the better tubes and the new Phillips rectifier tube.

mca

« Reply #3 on: 19 Nov 2015, 08:36 pm »
dminches,

What do you suggest as a replacement in the $100 range?

Bill Baker

• Industry Participant
  • Purity Audio Design -Custom Design and Manufacturi
    • Musica Bella Audio
« Reply #4 on: 19 Nov 2015, 08:40 pm »
My guess is that if you wait to.install your new tubes, you will have to wait for those tubes to break in starting all over again. I would think you would want to break in the component and tubes together. Signal tubes last a long time.
Good.choice on the Sophia tubes by the way.

PETE6737

• Revel 2 channel
« Reply #5 on: 19 Nov 2015, 08:54 pm »
Ok. I'm going to install the Sophia's when I get home. Thanks

JackD

« Reply #6 on: 20 Nov 2015, 01:46 am »
mca