A new OB journey

tonytopshed

A new OB journey
« on: 25 Aug 2014, 08:04 pm »
Hello all! I'm a newbie to speaker deign - and this forum; I've built a couple of TL kits and have felt that whilst good, there is always that 'box' effect. I've been trawling the internet  and am delighted to find a forum dedicated to OB's!

I took out the drivers and crossover from one of the TL's and mounted them on laminate flooring board so I can experiment by adding widths just by clicking together. This is purely experimental to decide if OB beckons - it does!

As I'm new to speaker design, much is over my head, I'll build, listen, tweak and hopefully pick up theory as I go along - and help from the forum would be appreciated!
What I'm looking at to get going is a two or three way OB  with passive crossover. There seem to be two main ideas here -
1. A small  (3 - 4") full-range driver with a largish (12 - 15+") bass woofer and possibly a tweeter.( MJKing, Manzanita, mh-audio project)
2. Two 10- 12" drivers and a tweeter. (Hestia)

I doubt if I'd be popular with herself if I went larger than a 12" driver, even that might need an awful lot of Brownie points!

My amplifier is an Arcam 38 and I listen mainly to classical music.
So what ideas do you all have on this? Feel free to encourage or rubbish me!

matevana

Re: A new OB journey
« Reply #1 on: 26 Aug 2014, 05:50 pm »
Hi Tony,