Matching Headphone Dynamics

Adarsh

« on: 26 Apr 2004, 02:34 pm »
How can you compare the sound quality of headphones with speakers.

Word was out that headphones were cheaper and produced much better sound. I used a Sony MDR-133 (very ordinary Discman earphones) with a Kenwood Amplifier (PC>Amp>Earphones), and I must say it sound excellent for a while, but then I fell victim to "listening fatique" and since then have never really been eager to put the headphones back on again or found it to be better. NOTE that those earphones sound good (no fatigue) with the Discman and I've been using that for more than 3 years.

My experience is based on a 65W 2.1 system, Sony earphones and Amp.

I find that even my very basic speakers have a more lively or natural sound than the headphones and amp...

Is my amplifier to blame??

I don't really see the sound quality as better it has actually degraded.

I was listening to MP3s ripped according to the Uberstandard.

Not clear about something?

Smeggy

« Reply #1 on: 26 Apr 2004, 06:14 pm »
Comparing headphones to speakers is difficult, I love headphones but I also love speakers. The presentation from each is so fundamentally different that comparisons are really pointless. You will never get the sense of space and the natural presentation from headphones as they are on or in your head. However, a decent set of cans can give you the range and dynamics few speakers in the lower to mid end of the spectrum can reach. Detail is one of the reasons some like headphones, they can be extremely revealing and give a feeling of effortless power.

Rob Babcock

• Volunteer
« Reply #2 on: 26 Apr 2004, 06:28 pm »
I quickly experience fatigue with MP3 no matter what I'm listening to them on, irregardless of the bitrate.

Mag

« Reply #3 on: 15 May 2004, 10:11 am »