Bipole or Dipole and the design

ttan98

Bipole or Dipole and the design
« on: 13 Jan 2011, 06:04 am »
I like to design a dipole with 2 full range drivers(each is 4ohm) mounted back to back and wired them in series and out of phase. Both of the drivers are mounted on a sealed enclosure. I think that would make the setup a dipole instead of a bipole.

If I have only a single driver on a sealed enclosure the capacity is about 4litre to give me a -3dB of about 90Hz. If I increase to 2 drivers do I double the capacity or still remain at 4litre to give me the same bass roll off. 

I would appreciate a response.

Duke

• Industry Contributor
    • http://www.audiokinesis.com
Re: Bipole or Dipole and the design
« Reply #1 on: 13 Jan 2011, 06:56 am »
A dipole will roll off a lot higher than a monopole in general, and two woofers wired in a dipole configuration sharing the same internal airspace is something that I have no experience with.  So unfortunately I cannot advise you on an internal volume that will give you the same bass rolloff as a single driver in monopole configuration. 

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #2 on: 18 Jan 2011, 08:45 pm »
Why not provide separate enclosures for each driver?

And why not use separate binding posts so you can play with both dipole  and bipole configurations?

Duke

• Industry Contributor
    • http://www.audiokinesis.com
« Reply #3 on: 18 Jan 2011, 09:01 pm »
Why not provide separate enclosures for each driver?

And why not use separate binding posts so you can play with both dipole  and bipole configurations?