any comments on cinema photography? (as related to still)

drphoto

I'm a still commercial photographer. As some of you know, I mostly do architecture and product.

But I love photography in general. Sometimes the work of great cinema photographers. Sure, they get the added element of elapsed time and movement (thinking here of the great, one take,  tracking shot in "Goodfellas")

but I'm more talking about people who can frame a shot and really know lighting.

First film I saw that blew my mind like this was Terrence Malick's "Days of Heaven" and his subsequent "Thin Red Line") I think the photographer was a Nestor Almendros. We showed the 35mm print of that at the student center when I was in college and I was temped to snip a frame or two to print. Just beautiful stuff.

Something more recent was the BBC reboot of Sherlock. Danmn, there's some amazing camera work there. Just great choices on placement, composition and lighting. I woulda thought shot with a DSLR, but DP used an Arri Alexa. Ok, so a $16K camera, but it was the man's eye that made the images. There was a scene at a swimming pool, and I remember thinking, this is so cool on the way this is framed.

thunderbrick

• Facilitator
  • I'm just not right!
Re: any comments on cinema photography? (as related to still)
« Reply #1 on: 24 Nov 2016, 03:47 am »
To say nothing of Citizen Kane, and many of the 1940s film noir B&W movies.   

Lawrence of Arabia is another visual masterpiece.

Folsom

« Reply #2 on: 24 Nov 2016, 06:26 am »
There Will Be Blood

The King's Speech

The Good, The Bad, The Weird

Once Upon A Time In The West

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
« Reply #3 on: 24 Nov 2016, 06:59 am »
Pretty much any Kubrick movie.  Kubrick of course started out as a photographer. 

brother love

« Reply #4 on: 24 Nov 2016, 03:46 pm »
Roger Deakins. His body of work with the Coen brothers is phenomenal (esp. Barton Fink & Fargo).

thunderbrick

• Facilitator
  • I'm just not right!

Photon46