Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 252560 times.

gbaby

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 76
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2240 on: 8 Sep 2017, 02:46 pm »
Hi

Yes the no internet is corrected in 35. 

35 is a beta currently so you have to download the beta version to play with it.

james

Download from where?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 16279
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2241 on: 8 Sep 2017, 03:29 pm »
Chris has a few customers that test Beta versions for him - so he gives you the secret sauce to download it.

james

unincognito

  • Industry Participant
  • Posts: 1541
    • bryston.com


R. Daneel

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 678
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2244 on: 9 Sep 2017, 01:51 pm »
Hi!

Chris, I did as you suggested but the BETA won't install. I followed the instructions but all it does after clicking Update is showing "/ I -" and stays that way.

Any ideas?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 16279
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2245 on: 9 Sep 2017, 01:58 pm »
Hi Folks,

Some shots of the new Artist View feature in Chris's new Software for MM.











R. Daneel

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 678
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2246 on: 9 Sep 2017, 02:23 pm »
Correction, it seems that I cannot upgrade any firmware, not just the beta version!

The thing just keeps showing the "slanted line" like it's doing something but it has been doing that for 2 hours now so something must be wrong. Current software version is S2.28. 

Any ideas?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 16279
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2247 on: 9 Sep 2017, 03:31 pm »
Command line should look like this - with your IP address of course.

http://192.168.1.17/bryston/settings/update-firmware.php#beta

Make sure you are in Update Firmware in Dashboard

Also make sure you hit update below the window once the command line is entered.




R. Daneel

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 678
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2248 on: 9 Sep 2017, 04:47 pm »
Hi James!

Yes, everything is EXACTLY as you say, just like Chris specified. Nothing happens.

It isn't only BETA that cannot be installed, for some reason, my BDP-2 refuses to update to the latest 2.34 version as well.

I've been trying all afternoon but with no luck. Something else must be wrong.

I have no idea what's going on. I sent an email to Chris but received no reply. I realise it's Saturday though so most likely won't hear from him till Monday.

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 16279
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2249 on: 9 Sep 2017, 05:00 pm »
Yes leave it for now - I will email Chris to see if he's around - he tends to go off biking.

james


R. Daneel

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 678
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2250 on: 9 Sep 2017, 05:10 pm »
Yes leave it for now - I will email Chris to see if he's around - he tends to go off biking.

james

Thank you James!

XMAN

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 164
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2251 on: 12 Sep 2017, 11:17 pm »
Hi Chris I'm gettting "Bryston DB disk full" in artist view i have 4G scratch drive is that not large enough or is it something else ?
S2.35 2017-09-08
Build: Manic Moose
MPD: 0.19.21 NEWS
Kernel: 3.16-0.bpo.2-486

OTM

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 59
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2252 on: 13 Sep 2017, 12:26 am »
Hi
I cleared the cache and reset the DB and all returned to normal

David

XMAN

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 164
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2253 on: 13 Sep 2017, 02:24 am »
when i try to mount the scratch drive i get the "bryston DB disk full"  when i unmount it works ok.  also when trying to erase the drive i cannot rename it.

OTM

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 59
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2254 on: 13 Sep 2017, 02:50 pm »
when i try to mount the scratch drive i get the "bryston DB disk full"  when i unmount it works ok.  also when trying to erase the drive i cannot rename it.

I am not using a scratch drive (bdp-2)
Did you try and reformat the drive?



Ola_S

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 22
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2255 on: 13 Sep 2017, 06:43 pm »
Maybe this question has been answered before but will the Tidal application in the BDP-2 be able to handle the master level quality in the future? Maybe I have misunderstood it but I don't think the software decoding of the MQA, like the tidal desktop app is doing, is a requirement for using the master level?

CanadianMaestro

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 893
  • Skepticism is the engine of true progress
    • Hearing Everything That Nothing Can Measure
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2256 on: 13 Sep 2017, 11:46 pm »
Maybe this question has been answered before but will the Tidal application in the BDP-2 be able to handle the master level quality in the future? Maybe I have misunderstood it but I don't think the software decoding of the MQA, like the tidal desktop app is doing, is a requirement for using the master level?

MQA is not master of anything; it is lossy, so you are correct, it is not required for playing master-quality recordings.


XMAN

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 164
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2257 on: 13 Sep 2017, 11:53 pm »
I am not using a scratch drive (bdp-2)
Did you try and reformat the drive?

I have to run a scratch drive.  A few weeks ago Chris suggested it and it solved the problem i was having.  After your collection gets to a curtain size it is required the on board memory on the BDP2 isn't enough.

Ola_S

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 22
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2258 on: 14 Sep 2017, 05:06 pm »
MQA is not master of anything; it is lossy, so you are correct, it is not required for playing master-quality recordings.
There is however no option to check in the GUI on the bdp-2 (only hifi level is selectable). When I play from the desktop app I get 96 kHz out from some records but the same record played from the BDP-2 generates a 44,1 kHz stream.

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 882
Re: Manic Moose (S2) - BDP's third major firmware release
« Reply #2259 on: 15 Sep 2017, 08:00 pm »
Is the server down? I just powered up and see a message that the BDP has no Internet connection. I tried installing the latest beta build but it just hangs and doesn't do anything.