OK, so anyone here play anything *other* than a guitar ;)

JohnR

...or drums!!

I played the cello for nearly two years as an adult. The only instrument I ever played (out of four) that I "connected" with. I was really quite bad, but what do you expect?! ;) The fact is that I'm a much better engineer than I am a musician. Oh well. Still, I'm considering taking it up again.

grub

« Reply #1 on: 21 May 2003, 03:43 pm »
I play the bass trombone (does anyone know what that is?)...actually, I just got a degree in bass trombone performance a month ago.  Since I still have plenty to learn about playing it, I'm going to go to grad school in Cincinnati and continue my training.

Sometimes I wish I was a better engineer than a bass bonist though, cause the pay is MUCH better!! ; )
-->grub

nathanm

« Reply #2 on: 21 May 2003, 05:17 pm »
I like to beat on my array of drum machines for a good hour or so after work.  Great way to ease stress.  I've got a Boss DR-660, a DR-770 and an Alesis DM-Pro all layering different sounds together.  What's really fun is if I can get a guitarist to jam along with me.  Doesn't happen too often though.  I have thought about trying my hand at real drums, but I can't get my feet to cooperate.

The only problem with the pads is that it is really hard to get dynamics.  The 770 has much greater sensitivity than the 660 though.  It's got some programming quirks which prevent me from using it for that, though.

Really good drum hit samples are hard to come by, and the really good ones are too big to fit on the DM-Pro.  That Gigasampler thing is pretty wicked, but I strongly dislike mixing computers and audio hardware.  I've played with Cakewalk a bit, but it is ultimately too frustrating.

mojoman

« Reply #3 on: 21 May 2003, 05:34 pm »