Recommend us a Turntable.

neekomax

Recommend us a Turntable.
« on: 4 Feb 2018, 04:02 am »
Long time listener, first time caller.

My beloved girlfriend has a pretty great vinyl collection that she started at the age of 10 (we're both in our early 40's). I'm a musician, audiophile, and general music freak, and all I want to do is get her a turntable worthy of our love for music, and each other.

Cool part is, I already have a kick-ass system that takes care of everything after the phono pre.

Under $500, what do you recommend? 

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
Re: Recommend us a Turntable.
« Reply #1 on: 4 Feb 2018, 04:09 am »
Something like this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Victor-QL-Y44F-Turntable-in-VGC/152869694044?hash=item2397be6a5c:g:Z5sAAOSwnlFaXyeq
Several of the JVC, Denons, even a Pioneer PL 570 fits in your price range, and provide excellent sound and full auto. Is auto a requirement for the girlfriend?

mca

neekomax

« Reply #3 on: 4 Feb 2018, 05:39 am »
Something like this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Victor-QL-Y44F-Turntable-in-VGC/152869694044?hash=item2397be6a5c:g:Z5sAAOSwnlFaXyeq
Several of the JVC, Denons, even a Pioneer PL 570 fits in your price range, and provide excellent sound and full auto. Is auto a requirement for the girlfriend?

No, I don't think manual operation is a problem, if it means a better or more reliable musical experience.

neekomax

« Reply #4 on: 4 Feb 2018, 05:42 am »
https://uturnaudio.com/collections/all

Thank you. Nice lookin site.

Are these turntables free of the sort of low end bugs I hear about from other models? I.e. - speed problem, stylus alignment issues, etc...

ArthurDent

• Don't Panic / Mostly Harmless
« Reply #5 on: 4 Feb 2018, 07:09 am »
Frank really likes his uturn Orbit, and speaks highly of it's build quality. As I'm sure you know he doesn't give recommendations lightly.  http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=150324.msg1608237#msg1608237 

See the last post.

restrav