Poll

After reading the initial post in this thread, what is your level of interest in this product?

I'm not a prospective buyer.
7 (15.9%)
I'm not a prospect, but know someone who definitely is.
0 (0%)
I am a prospective buyer.
7 (15.9%)
Stupid product.  Get a real job, ya bum.
1 (2.3%)
Yawn.
1 (2.3%)
Neat product, even if I'm not in your target audience.
28 (63.6%)

Total Members Voted: 44

New product research poll: AudioKinesis Planetarium Gamma system

Duke

• Industry Contributor
    • http://www.audiokinesis.com
The purpose of this poll is to help me gauge interest in a new product that I haven't decided whether or not to go into production with.  Also, this is a sneaky way for me to promote my product under the guise of a poll.  As if you hadn't figured that out already.

So here's the deal:  If the interest is there, I'm in a position to launch the newest member of the Planetarium line, the Gamma.  And if it's not, well... I'd much rather find out now than later!

In honor of these relatively lean times, the Gamma system will be considerably less expensive than Planetariums Alpha and Beta.   My target introductory price is three grand.  That would be for a pair of satellites that are designed with a high priority on radiation pattern control, plus a four-piece sealed Swarm version 3.0.   

Preliminary specs for the satellite system:

Type:  Stand-mount, controlled-pattern, vented box
Efficiency:  93 dB/ 1 watt/ 1 meter (calculated from Thiele/Small parameters)
Nominal impedance:  8 ohms, minimum 7 ohms
Bandwidth:  80 Hz to 18 kHz
Thermal compression:  Less than 1 dB at 106 dB SPL
Recommended amplifier power:  5 to 100 watts
Dimensions:  18" H x 10" W x 12" D
Weight: 40 pounds each

Preliminary specs for subwoofer system:

Type:  Four-piece sealed-box Swarm
System Qtc:  .5 (point five)
Bottom-end extension:  To 28 Hz in-room with 80 Hz crossover; to 23 Hz in-room with 35 Hz crossover
Thermal compression:  Less than 1 dB at 106 dB SPL