Any opinions on Feikert vs. Best Tractor from MintLP?

2gumby2

Independent of price, just wondering which might be the better tool for cartridge alignments. The Feikert seems to be appropriate for most tables and arms and could be used for any future turntable/arm changes. The Best Tractor also seems good, but would be limited to one application and I would need to buy another one for a different rig in the future. Any opinions on the Pros/Cons of each? I'm not an engineer, just an enthusiast trying to get the best alignment with the least amount of hassle.

orthobiz

Re: Any opinions on Feikert vs. Best Tractor from MintLP?
« Reply #1 on: 30 Dec 2010, 03:24 pm »
www.avahifi.com has one, but the site is down? today??

Paul

steveblezy

« Reply #2 on: 31 Dec 2010, 03:26 pm »
I have been using the Feikert for a few years now. It is a great tool and it will take just a few minutes to dial in your cart. Your first step with this tool is to easier measure your spindle to pivot distance with the sliding beam i the top. Once you have this, you set your effective length, hence your required overhang is set at the same time. Next, place your stylus at the inner (or outer) null point, align, and use the other null to verify that you did not move the cart for or aft in the process. 5 minutes and you are done. The latest version of the tool make working with a rega easier than the original one. I like the tool because your actually measure your spindle to pivot distance instead of assuming that the manufacturer mounts are perfect to the specs or maybe you are using an adjustable armboard. It is a great tool. Ease to read and to work with.
Steve

simoon

« Reply #3 on: 31 Dec 2010, 06:39 pm »
I've used the 2 you mention, and I've also used this one -

http://www.turntablebasics.com/

The mirrored surface makes it easier and more accurate to get the cartridge aligned.

Edit: they seem to be out of them at the moment.

bacobits1

2gumby2

« Reply #5 on: 1 Jan 2011, 01:19 am »