WT Classic Motor Speed dragging

tommytube

WT Classic Motor Speed dragging
« on: 23 Jun 2017, 11:52 pm »
I have an early 90's WT Classic with the circular hole cutout for the motor.  It was sounding a bit slow, so I started playing around with the phone app RPM Calculator.  You fire up the app and place the phone on the clamp and it'll give you the RPM speed.  It's really nice tool. 

Anyway I was at 31 something, so I bought a new NOS belt from stock from Stanalog on ebay.  After I got it and installed it, it read 33.2 again, so I was happy.  Now a month later today it was down to 31 again.

Can voltage fluctuations on the AC lines cause this motor to drag and go slower?  Or it just the belt slipping a bit?

I've seen some mention getting a wider belt to solve this.  Anybody know how to fix this?  My setup is sounding incredible except for this dragging down from 33.3 RPM.

mav52

Re: WT Classic Motor Speed dragging
« Reply #1 on: 24 Jun 2017, 12:17 am »
Its possible. And motors don't last forever.    I have the VPI Classic Anniversary.

Sorry about that. I saw classic and jumped over the fence assuming the wrong manufacturer.  Please excuse

But yes even with my TT I've noticed times that speed in influenced by fluctuating ac current.  I purchased a Roadrunner which seems to keep the speed steady even in times of ac fluctuation.   Buts possible your motor is getting weak
« Last Edit: 24 Jun 2017, 11:03 am by mav52 »

sebrof

« Reply #2 on: 24 Jun 2017, 02:14 am »
VPI?? Did I miss something?  :scratch:  :)

mav52

« Reply #3 on: 24 Jun 2017, 10:55 am »
Yep I saw classic and jumped over the fence.  Please excuse. 

tommytube

« Reply #4 on: 8 Jul 2017, 11:32 pm »