Pass Labs INT-30A and New Omega SAM's

loco11

Pass Labs INT-30A and New Omega SAM's
« on: 11 Nov 2016, 01:37 pm »
Does anyone have any experience with this solid state integrated amp paired with Omega speakers?  I recently upgraded my speakers from the 3XRS to the SAM’s with the R-compound. Great speaker, though I’m looking to purchase an excellent solid state to go with. Currently, I use the Mini Torii MK3 with an Audio GD DAC-19. I’ll keep the DAC and periodically change the amp. Other options I have considered are Clones Audio, and Audio Sector. Admittedly, I have zero experience with them; however, I am most curious about the Pass Labs given their stellar reputation.

Thanks. Chuck

seikosha

Re: Pass Labs INT-30A and New Omega SAM's
« Reply #1 on: 11 Nov 2016, 01:49 pm »
Although I haven't read about any of the Pass Labs amps with the Omegas, there are a lot of owners out there using Nelson Pass' First Watt products.  Those amps were specifically designed for high efficiency speakers.  I believe he even designed some of the First Watt amps specifically with Single Driver speakers in mind.  Might be something you'd like to also look at.

Good luck.

jcake5

« Reply #2 on: 11 Nov 2016, 03:41 pm »
Hi Chuck,

In reference to FirstWatt amps, Nelson has designed some versions to be current source amplifiers vs the common voltage source amplifier.  Current amps are what Nelson uses for single-driver loudspeakers.  Please read his document on the subject.  www.firstwatt.com/pdf/art_cs_amps.pdf

Regards,
Eric

Louis O

« Reply #3 on: 11 Nov 2016, 10:27 pm »
Hi Chuck,

Great news and welcome. I have heard a lot of excellent feedback with the First Watt J2
http://www.firstwatt.com/j2.html

Thanks,
Louis

mrvco

« Reply #4 on: 13 Nov 2016, 03:49 am »
+1 for the J2.  I just bought one a couple of weeks ago and I'm definitely enjoying it.

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #5 on: 13 Nov 2016, 11:27 am »