Visaton B200 OB

Knight Rider

Visaton B200 OB
« on: 6 Jan 2014, 10:49 am »
Hello!

I'm new on this forum, but I have spend lots of time by reading old threads like "Gravity well of a dark star". I have some experience about simple 2-way open baffles (MJK style), but I have never tried hinged version of only one driver (like Visaton B200).

In old threads it was stated that B200 is a pretty good driver for OB in it's prize range. How about today. Are you guys still using it and/or are there better solutions available for 1-way OB ?

mcgsxr

Re: Visaton B200 OB
« Reply #1 on: 7 Jan 2014, 01:13 pm »
Welcome to AC!  Sounds like you found a great thread for OB exploration if you have read through the very long Gravity thread.

I used the b200 for around 8 years on OB, but only for 1 year without a helper woofer - it just cannot deliver satisfying bass in rooms larger than 10x14 in my experience, and all my basement rooms have been more 2x that size.

I have never heard them, but some folks claim the Hawthorne's can deliver on their own, though they too are most often paired up with Auggies for bass.

What size room do you have?  Amp?

Knight Rider

« Reply #2 on: 7 Jan 2014, 01:46 pm »
My listening room is quite small, approx. 13.8 x 10.8 x 7.9 ft. Now I have a simple plain baffles with TB W8-1808 + Fane sovereign 18-500 (18"). I have also tried Eminence alpha 15A instead of Fane, but it's not any better. I like the sound in general, but the bass quality is not as good as I could wish for. It's maybe too slow and does not have shades like the best ones.

My amplifier is Vincent sv-236 mk:
http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/vincent2/1.html

and cd-player is Arcam cd33:
http://www.stereophile.com/cdplayers/704arcam/

Do you think it could be possible to get satisfying bass with my room/gear?

Knight Rider

« Reply #3 on: 9 Jan 2014, 11:33 am »
I have some questions related to open baffle design process, could you please help me: