A Series of Fortunate Events...Birth of OXO

Brian Cheney

• http://www.vmpsaudio.com
A Series of Fortunate Events...Birth of OXO
« on: 18 Aug 2006, 03:21 pm »
About a month ago long-time VMPS'er Dave R and inveterate tweeker John Casler colluded to come up with options for the RM 40 that I have never tried before, namely an outboard crossover and all Bolder speaker wire inside crossover and speaker.  Given the 11.5 gauge twisted quad nature of the Bolder, this meant much additional labor.

I didn't charge Dave R enough for this.  He said he wanted "the best RM 40's he could get" and would settle for nothing less. He more than got his heart's desire, IMHO.

Outboard crossovers are nothing new here.  They're standard on the ST3SRE system and have found application in smaller speakers.  My experience had been that the extra wiring and connectors negated most advantage from the elimination of microphonics and other phenomena.  Well, at least this time round, I was wrong, a rare admission for me and my various alter egi.

Dave R's 40's, which I will henceforth dub "Supermax" are a revelation (pardon me if this term has been used before by others) in clarity, extension, imaging, definition and naturalness.  I have not yet figured out how much contribution the great Wayne Wanaanen/Bolder wire makes overall, relative to the separate crossover.  And remember, this pair includes the SR71, CDWG's. TRT caps, mls cabinets and tuned/tweeked passive CD EQ crossovers.  But my demo pair of 40's has all this and does not produce the sheer beauty of sound I hear from  "Supermax".