The Pitfalls Of Being A Small Audio Manufacturer

bhobba

The Pitfalls Of Being A Small Audio Manufacturer
« on: 30 Nov 2010, 01:08 am »
Hi All

Since it is a bit quiet around here I thought I would post a few observations I have gleaned in recent times about what guys like Bob go through.

I have been posting to Bob's forum for quite a few years now but of recent times have become aware of exactly what manufactures like Bob goes through.  I have developed a good relationship with a guy that lives close to me that does, amongst other things, what Bob does (ie design and build speakers).  I have seen first hand the stress and strain doing that can cause.  He starts at about 10.00 am in the morning and can go though to about 1.00 am the following morning pretty much 7 days a week.  When I visit him the phone constantly runs hot with clients and between that he has to do his speaker building and other stuff.  From what I have seen the Audiophile speaker building business is a bit like what they say about being a Winemaker.  Yes you can make a small fortune that way.  You have to work long hours seven days a week - but by far the most important thing is - start with a large fortune.  It is fairly obvious to me guys in this business do it for the love of it - not the money.  But like the Winemaker there is an upside - the product they produce quite likely is much better and sold at a price often a good deal cheaper than the big boys.   

Now I know this I personally prefer to deal with guys like Bob.  If we don't support them then we will be left with the big boys and their high prices.

Anyway off soapbox now.  And I really would like to hear what others think.

Thanks
Bill

Phil A

Re: The Pitfalls Of Being A Small Audio Manufacturer
« Reply #1 on: 30 Nov 2010, 03:04 am »