Should I add an iTube2?

Should I add an iTube2?
« on: 26 Sep 2017, 05:18 pm »
I hope I'm posting this to the right place.

I'm a semi-retired orchestra teacher with a simple but enjoyable solid-state system in a fairly small room.

I'm generally satisfied with my listening experience with most 50s jazz and classical or baroque chamber music, but not so much when I put on Mahler and Tchaikovsky where I wish my speakers were farther apart and farther from the wall for a more expansive soundstage.

Would adding an iTube2 to the following system give me a bigger soundstage for larger orchestra recordings in a believable way, or is the 3D stuff a gimmick? And would I lose any of the life-like clarity my simple system already provides? (Playing a well-recorded CD engineered by Peter McGrath or Tony Faulkner of a small classical ensemble is totally satisfying as is, and I don't want to lose anything in a more complex electric chain.)

Also, is adding this unit a legit way to introduce some real "tube sound" to my system?

NAD 516BEE CD player used as a transport
Emotiva CD-1 used as a DAC and preamplifier
Electron Kinetics Eagle 2 amplifier with two 100,000 pF capacitors in the upgraded power supply
Vandersteen 2C loudspeakers on lead-filled steel stands, refurbished at the factory about 15 years ago

Thanks for your insights.

genjamon

Re: Should I add an iTube2?
« Reply #1 on: 26 Sep 2017, 05:50 pm »
I found the iTube2 provided extra dimensionality to the soundstage as well as some valued instrumental body - and that's with my having a DHT tube output stage in my DAC and running an 845 tube amp.  The passive volume control in my DAC was definitely a constraining factor, I believe, and the sound opened up nicely with the iTube2.  I have since invested in a much more expensive tube preamp than the iTube2, but the iTube2 proved to me that this was needed to make the most of the other components in the chain.