I've got my Sapphire XLs, should I get a subwoofer?

crazytasty

Hello everybody, so I just made an offer for 350 dollars on Audiogon for a Titan subwoofer, I wish you could withdraw offers cause I immediately had second thoughts after I sent it. If I have to buy it I will buy it. This was my first ever experience on Audiogon (charliep127) so I'm a real newbie there. I sent the guy an email asking if he would consider not accepting my offer, I hope this isn't some serious breach of Audiogon ettiquete, I don't know. Not a good way to start out there. :/

Anyways, I wanted to talk with you guys about a subwoofer option for my Sapphire XL speakers. My room is 11 by 15 and is horrible by acoustics standards (this is my bedroom). Do I need a subwoofer, or will I get plenty of bass without one? I mainly listen to jazz, although I have a few hip-hop bumpers I might want to listen to from time to time, as I am just 18.

Your help and advice is very much appreciated.
Thank you!
Charlie

srb

Re: I've got my Sapphire XLs, should I get a subwoofer?
« Reply #1 on: 4 Apr 2011, 05:57 am »
Charlie,

According to Audiogon's Buyer Guide under Making Offers, "If you make an offer, you should be ready to follow through, if your offer is accepted within 24 hours."  Although making the offer is not legally binding, it is expected that you will follow through, and they ultimately do have the right to terminate membership.

That being said, there is certainly nothing wrong with asking a seller if they would consider ignoring the offer.  I know I would rather not do business with a buyer that has second thoughts and would not want to try and bully anyone to make good their offer if they weren't comfortable (especially if they contact me quickly).