Signature 16 and other amps with Magnepan MMG

AMF

Signature 16 and other amps with Magnepan MMG
« on: 9 Apr 2014, 08:41 pm »
Hello, I am new here and this is my first post so go easy on me :)  I am not an electrical engineer or pretend to be one.

In the interest of full disclosure, the following is content from an email I sent to Vinnie Rossi.  He asked me to post this because the information may be interesting to others and start a a conversation.  I have no ties with RWA or Vinnie other than I own a Signature 16 purchased through an authorized dealer.

The Magnepan bug bit me and I decided on a whim to buy a pair of MMGs.  I figured I could always sell them quickly if I didn’t like them.

I auditioned them with the following amps:

Krell s-300i (300 watts into 4 ohms)

Cayin A-88T (45 watts ultra linear mode 4 ohm taps)

Luxman SQ-N10 (17 watts per channel, 6 ohms)

Red Wine Audio Signature 16

Tests were done without a subwoofer.  My listening room (living room in a brownstone) is 14 x 18 with 9 foot ceilings with some acoustic treatment.

To no surprise the Luxman was pretty weak with the MMGs (I normally use it as a headphone amp).  The Cayin wasn’t much better — great midrange, but weak and flabby bass.  I had big hopes for the Cayin since I have read others report success with Magnepans.   The Krell has an extremely tight grip on the bass and smooth (almost too smooth) mids and highs.

Why am I telling you this?  Well, just for kicks I tried the Signature 16.  Amazingly, the Signature 16 really compliments the MMGs.  The bass is tight but slightly fuller than the Krell, but the midrange is liquid and has a deep sound stage (dare I say SET like).  I listened to the combination at no louder than 80 db or so.  I don’t want to melt the MMGs as I bypassed the fuse and the jumper.  The MMG stock sounds veiled in comparison my modded version —for the price it is worth the risk.