seeking advice on amp for my HD800

audiojerry

Re: seeking advice on amp for my HD800
« Reply #20 on: 17 May 2011, 12:27 pm »
Yes it does. Are you looking to upgrade?

I am pursuing a good quality headphone amp. I don't know if upgrade is the right word, because I'm just getting started down the headphone path. Right now I'm trying a Grado RA-1. I'm not disappointed with the sound - it is a bit on the light side and could maybe use more body.

I was considering the Peachtree Nova, and I've read raving reviews of the Red Wine Isabellina, but $2500 is a lot of money.

I'm also wondering how much benefit a cable upgrade provides, like the Moon Audio.     

Elizabeth

• So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
« Reply #21 on: 17 May 2011, 04:02 pm »
The best amps i have for my HD800 are the Rudistor RPX-33 mkII  I bought used last year. And the Singlepower MPX3 I also bought last year, used.
The next in line is the headphone out of my Bryston BP-26 preamp.
I also have a TADAC DAC with headphone out, and just sold a LittleDot mkIII headphone amp.

I bought a handmade (closeout sale, but i still paid a couple hundred bucks) HD800 headphone cable from i do not remember whom, and it is definitely a better cable than the stock one.

audiojerry

« Reply #22 on: 17 May 2011, 05:13 pm »
The best amps i have for my HD800 are the Rudistor RPX-33 mkII  I bought used last year. And the Singlepower MPX3 I also bought last year, used.
The next in line is the headphone out of my Bryston BP-26 preamp.
I also have a TADAC DAC with headphone out, and just sold a LittleDot mkIII headphone amp.

I bought a handmade (closeout sale, but i still paid a couple hundred bucks) HD800 headphone cable from i do not remember whom, and it is definitely a better cable than the stock one.