Decware or Glow Audio 2?

chgolatin2

Decware or Glow Audio 2?
« on: 2 Apr 2019, 12:08 pm »
I came across Decware, an Illinois tube amp audio maker and looking at their Zen Torii MK2 and also the Glow amp 2. One cost 3k the other on sale for $888 since I’ve never tried a SET amp before I’m not sure if I should spend 4K on an amp even though the Decware amp looks freakishly amazing. 

If you were in my shoes what route would you take in order to dive into low wattage tube systems?

FireGuy

Re: Decware or Glow Audio 2?
« Reply #1 on: 2 Apr 2019, 01:13 pm »
If your speakers are high sensitivity, why not look at Decware's Super Zen Triode?  It's way closer to the Glow Amp 2 price. 

I have heard Decware gear and it's impressive.  Many Omega owners love the mating.

borism

« Reply #2 on: 2 Apr 2019, 01:27 pm »
Just to add another option for low power SET amplifiers - Bottlehead. It is a DIY kit and as such very rewarding in my opinion. I built the Stereomour a 2A3 integrated amplifier 5 years ago and it's still in daily use.

RDavidson

« Reply #3 on: 2 Apr 2019, 02:01 pm »
Your choice should be highly based on the speakers you plan to use it with. The second consideration is if you tend to swap gear a lot : Do you plan to keep it a long time (so depreciation is less of an issue) or is this more of an experimental step? I also consider the availability of service and product support an important factor too.

opnly bafld

• 83 Klipsch LSIs
« Reply #4 on: 2 Apr 2019, 03:54 pm »
Your post is a bit confusing; the Torii MK IV is the current model and it is a p/p pentode amp.
The SE84 and SE34I are set amps, the Mini Torii is a sep amp, and the Torii JR is a p/p UL? amp.

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
« Reply #5 on: 2 Apr 2019, 03:55 pm »
What speakers are you running?

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #6 on: 4 Apr 2019, 11:49 am »