Hello from IL

needtubes

Hello from IL
« on: 12 Oct 2017, 06:52 pm »
I've browsed the Spatial Audio and Open Baffle forums a few times as a non-member, but finally decided to officially join up when I saw a very affordable pair of Spatials for sale in the Classifieds forum.  Pity new members cannot post there or send private messages, so I guess I will miss out of a great deal.  :(

I have been into "hifi" since I was a sophomore in high school, and have been building my own amplifiers and speakers for as long.  Unsurprisingly, I am a long-time member of the DIY Audio forums.  I am particularly fond of 'simple' circuit topologies which perform exceptionally (a la Nelson Pass, for instance).

My short-term audio plans are to build or buy a pair of open baffle speakers.  I have long since fell in love with their sound, but only recently have acquired the space for them.  This looks like a good place to research open baffle designs, and I look forward to learning from what other members have done.

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Hello from IL
« Reply #1 on: 12 Oct 2017, 07:01 pm »
Welcome Needtubes :thumb:
With 3 post you can post at the Trading Circle.

Blackmore

« Reply #2 on: 12 Oct 2017, 07:02 pm »
Welcome to Audio Circle from MO

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
« Reply #3 on: 12 Oct 2017, 07:22 pm »
My short-term audio plans are to build or buy a pair of open baffle speakers.
I think you will like this woofers:
http://www.pureaudioproject.com/product/15inch-open-baffle-bass-woofers/

needtubes

« Reply #4 on: 12 Oct 2017, 07:32 pm »
Welcome Needtubes :thumb:
With 3 post you can post at the Trading Circle.