My X-SLS Classic build

jeffwhetstone

My X-SLS Classic build
« on: 1 Aug 2017, 06:44 pm »
Greetings everyone.  I just finished up my 2nd speaker project and thought it might be fun to share the details of my build.     

My background is that I’m not an audiophile, nor a skilled woodworker, but I’m generally handy and love music.   I was in the market for some speakers to add tunes to my basement workshop.  A Google search turned up an X-LS build thread by lacro on this forum where he achieved a beautiful ‘piano black’ finish.    Of course aesthetics should not be primary concern for an unfinished basement, but nevertheless I was inspired.   I picked up an X-LS classic kit from Danny and struggled through the process using some of the great advice and techniques I learned here.   In the end I fell a bit short of lacro’s benchmark, but I learned a lot, got some speakers which look half decent (for the basement, anyway), and I thought they sounded great.

For my second project, and the subject of this post, I decided to build some X-SLS as a wedding gift for my wife’s brother.     I picked up the kit from Danny and downloaded the plans from his site.    Using a free panel layout tool I found online, I determined I could cut all of the pieces efficiently from 2’x4’ MDF panels.   http://optimalon.com/online_cut_optimizer.htm
This, of course, simplifies transporting said material home and getting it into the basement.

Using the ol’ Craftsmen table saw, I cut all of the panels to size.   This took less time than cleaning up all the MDF dust I made and distributed everywhere.    [Note to self:   consider getting a dust collection system].

Unfortunately, cutting the holes in all the internal braces proved too much for my crappy early 80s  B&D jigsaw.    Good excuse to upgrade.