Prototype of my new speaker cable design

danvprod

Prototype of my new speaker cable design
« on: 1 Apr 2017, 12:35 am »
Something I have been working on. I found this awesome cable. It's 5 conductor, 16 AWG teflon covered silver coated stranded copper. Braiding all 5 conductors together gives me ~9 AWG. I terminated these to some nice BFA-style plugs and wrapped both channels in tech flex.

« Last Edit: 1 Apr 2017, 12:46 pm by danvprod »

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
Re: Prototype of my new speaker cable design
« Reply #1 on: 1 Apr 2017, 12:52 am »
Thanks for the post.

How long did you have to burn them in before they sounded their best?

Have you ever used other silver cables before? If so, which brands?

Michael

Johnny2Bad

« Reply #2 on: 1 Apr 2017, 01:28 am »
That's similar (but not identical) to a cable I've been using for about 15 years now. 4x PTFE 18 Ga Mil-Spec stranded silver over copper per channel (= 15 Ga equivalent). I braided all 4 runs together. Works well for me with 40 wpc.

With 5x per leg (2x 5 = 10 16Ga total per channel) you should be below 10 Ga equivalent but not quite 9 Ga. (25% of +3 Ga equivalent, or 25% of the way to 7 Ga from 10). Nitpicking, I know.

Am I correct in interpreting that you are using silver wire with PTFE dielectric, or is it silver coated copper (Mil-Spec)? Solid or stranded?

And ... is it two parallel runs of 5x or one 10x twisted run split into two at the termination point for each leg?

Davey

« Reply #3 on: 1 Apr 2017, 02:52 am »
L, C, R??  Characteristic impedance?
You should measure/determine all those.....for reference.

Dave.

danvprod

« Reply #4 on: 1 Apr 2017, 12:45 pm »
Hi --

thanks for the comments.