Full Range - How to high pass or loss pass with minimal impact on quality.

Ultralight

Apologies if:
1. This has been discussed in this circle. I did a search and did not find an answer to my question.  :roll:
2. If this violates some any purist sensibilities regarding full range needing to be absolutely full range without modification.   :icon_lol:

Question - if I have full range speaker, but I want to EITHER high pass or low pass the speaker, what is the way to do this that allows the 'purest' signal to get through so that I loose least quality such as resolution, dynamics etc.

Again, apologies to any purists here to may really disdain this question....no offense intended.  I'm a relatively newbie to full range have been smitten by the first full ranger I've tested extensively.

Thanks,
UL

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
To low pass use a inductor, best are the ribbons, Jeff will serve you well:
http://www.soniccraft.com/index.php/inductors-12-gauge-c-27_94
Calc the inductor here:
http://www.erseaudio.com/CrossoverCalculators

shooter

What driver are you using? What is you intended crossover point? Do you intend to bi-amp or tri-amp? I have a couple of friends that have special output transformers wound for their amps to roll off the low frequencies to match their drivers. Or If you have a capacitor coupled amp you can calculated the cap value between 2 stages for the desire roll off. On my set up I run my full range drivers wide open and use speaker level active low pass filter for the subwoofer and add a high quality bullet super tweeter just to enhance the top end.

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
To be a purist:

1.)  Don't (there is no perfect speaker, just find the compromises that work best for you)