Quiescent current

jc

Quiescent current
« on: 18 Jan 2004, 12:50 pm »
Hi Everyone,

As I am new to this forum I will probably be covering ground that has been discussed before.
It's good to see that there are guys out there prepared to build their own amps etc. and people like White Noise there to provide kits and support. I built my amp some years ago (too long to remember). It started out as a stereo mosfet job but I have rebuilt it over the years and now is in the form of a pair of monoblocks.
I was interested to see one of the postings referring to the quiescent current setting and how this can effect the performance of the amp. Well I must concurr the fact that I also found that this is a critical factor in sound quality but as I am not an electronics expert and I have no idea how far you can go in jacking up this bias current. My particular amp kit supplier recommended 155mA but I have since bumped it up to 275mA but now I see that figures of 500/600mA are being quoted. I realize that you have to have the heat sinking and or fans to keep the thing from thermal overload but is there any other factor which one should be aware of before going up to these sort of figures as I would like to try mine at that level to achieve Class A  operation.
Any comments or advice would be gratefully accepted/

jc     :o

Luis MC

Quiescent current
« Reply #1 on: 21 Jan 2004, 06:42 am »
Hi jc,

I believe that you are right, first be careful with thermal disipation, with proper heatsinking at output transistors.
     With lateral mosfets there is positive thermal coeficient, but vertical mosfet have negative thermal coeficient and must be cotrol temperature, generaly by putting a transistor in thermal contact in heatsink. With lateral mosfets is more easy to implement.