Parts for HPS-938

Albert Allen

Parts for HPS-938
« on: 9 Jan 2009, 03:05 pm »
I am auditioning a pair of HPS-938's and a woofer was damaged in shipping....I figured it would be easy to get a replacement but as another member has discovered it is not that easy. I talked to someone name Albert this morning (I assume this is the Albert that folks here talk about).

Albert seemed very nice but also seemed very unsure of the supply of 8" woofers.

My fear in purchasing these speakers (and yes they do sound great even with one dead woofer) is that I will not be able to get parts for them as I am already seeing.

My Dynaudio's at $1000 less are easily serviced with parts and they have a dedicated parts staff and inventory located in the US.

I am not here to flame but I have a lot of experience with parts and service and I can tell you that a product line stands a slim chance of survival (even with a small group of  dedicated followers) if you can't get spare parts.

It is obvious that the woofer damage problem (a shock load will break the motor assembly from the basket) is not an isolated incident with just me so I think having a supply of spares (not just woofers) available here in the US is a good idea.

Albert Allen

malcolmsmith

Re: Parts for HPS-938
« Reply #1 on: 12 Jan 2009, 08:23 am »
I have also expressed my concern regarding spare parts for 938s to Albert Wu direct. I shall post a copy of his reply when received.

Albert Allen

« Reply #2 on: 13 Jan 2009, 02:04 pm »
As I am afraid it is with many things, and this instance is no exception; the more folks chime in the better our chances of getting some kind of answer. If we can't get spare parts then please just let us know.  :wink:

eddie123

« Reply #3 on: 29 Jan 2009, 06:56 pm »
Hello excuse my bad english(norway).I am very disapointed about Hyperion and i cant believe the answer i get frome Albert.