How to improve my Lio by tweaking ?

Mitch751

How to improve my Lio by tweaking ?
« on: 3 Jan 2018, 05:54 am »
I have been using LIO for more than three years, and I am very very pleased with it.

In the past six months, I have been tweaking it by adding some accessories , the improvements are quite significant and the differences are night and day even I do not have a pair of golden ears.

There are two parts, the phono stage and the Dac version 2.

Firstly, the phono stage, I started to play vinyl begninging of the year, as I said in this forum before, the sound was good but there was room to improve, I needed to turn the volume much louder while I was playing with some low output MC cartridge. My friend strongly suggested me to add a step up transformer in between the turntable's output and LIO, and I have tried a few SUTs, and most of them were quite disappointed due to the Hum noise, not until I tried the Bob Devices SUT, and I really can hear the difference, the improvement is mainly from wider soundstage, stronger bass, and more dynamic.

Secondly, I never believed that I needed to add world clock / reclocker for my LIO Dac, however, because I got a good discount before Christmas for Mutec Ref. 10 (w.clock) and MC30+USB (reclocker), I purchased this combo for the original plan to connect it with my Mytek 192 (in the study room).

They got delivered before the holiday, I wonder whether it was a good idea to have it with my LIO (MacBook Pro USB > Mutec Combo > SPDIF to LIO, the first second I played the music, I could hear the difference .... OH my god, too good to be true, I never expected the improvement could be so significant. The soundstage was much deeper and wider, the sound tone did not change much but the instrutments were soooooooo real to me ... I never heard my B&W 800 D2 could present a piano sound so real ....